Home > Photoshop Tips/Tricks > Eye Enhancing and Retouching Video Tutorial

Eye Enhancing and Retouching Video Tutorial


I’ve added a short video tutorial to go along with the older Quickie Eye Enhancement Part 1 and Quickie Eye Enhancement Part 2 tutorials. In the video I show some of the tricks from each and a few new tips not covered in the original tutorials.

Click through for the video.


For best quality, view in Full Screen with HD enabled.

  1. Sean B.
    January 10, 2010 at 10:23 am

    The destructive editing sort of freaks me out. I’ve been doing non-destructive edits for so long, I had forgotten that some people still do that. To other viewers, I suggest that you learn to the edits shown in this video without working on image layers (plus needlessly duplicating image layers and increasing file size in the bargain). Learn to use adjustment layers, blank layers, and layer masks (rather than the eraser tool).

    • modifiedphoto
      January 10, 2010 at 11:25 am

      Destructive editing is fine in moderation and done as a last step before conversion to the output profile and flattened. I’ve done most all of my editing up to this point in Lightroom and only took the image into Photoshop for final retouching. To be honest, much of what i did could even be done in Lightroom but more people have Photoshop and understand the tools than have Lightroom and understand the Adjustment Brush. (However, that gives me an idea for another video on how to do it all in Lightroom.)

      To be honest, destructive editing isn’t all that bad as long as you know what you are doing. (Remember, it was the only way to edit until only a few years ago. Ever try to undo a mistake in the darkroom?) Since I work on a duplicate unedited layer that is saved with the file, I can always go back or mask anything I dislike. And I don’t do edits that I don’t like or want anyway.

      I use layers to do edits on so I can make tweaks to those edits before I flatten them to the main working layer. The reason I started with two duplicate layers is that I was taught years ago to duplicate the background layer before starting any edits so you can easily toggle between the retouched and unretouched versions for quick comparison. It also allows to easily undo anything. (Yes, snapshots and history brush work too, but you can’t save a snapshot with the file.) If you watch some of my other videos, you will find that I am a major advocate of adjustment layers and layer masks when they are easier to work with. In some cases, such as stroking the ring around the eyes, I decided that it is quicker and easier to just duplicate the working layer, stroke, erase and merge back down again than it would be to add a blank layer, stroke, mask, switch blending modes, figure out why it’s not blending right and then merge down.

      As for file size and layers, I generally only have one extra saved in a file at a time excluding adjustment layers (which don’t add much to the file size). Besides, who doesn’t have several terabytes of disk space these days? A 60mb TIFF versus a 290mb TIFF makes no difference to me. This is why I work on files straight out of Lightroom in 16bit rather than down-converting to 8bit. (Saving in 16bit results in files twice the size as 8bit.)

  2. karen kaner
    February 21, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    thanks for the tutorial on the eye enhancement…looks great! I’m gotta remember this technique for future head shots etc. Good job }:o)

  1. January 11, 2010 at 7:47 am

Leave a Reply

