Home > Raves > Top 10 of 2009

Top 10 of 2009


Well, we made it through the first decade of the new millennium. I swear that went way way faster than I can believe. It feels like just yesterday people were scrambling to get ready for the “Y2k bug”.

In any case, 2009 was a good year for some and a very bad year for others. For me I feel it was very sideways. Although I keep looking ahead to the future, things kinda pass me at awkward angles making it difficult to really judge where I am going these days. (Imagine riding in a car and only looking out the side windows.) But I have to say that sometime in the spring of 2009 I decided to start blogging what was in my head as well as some random thoughts among other stuff that I enjoy about photography. I set goals for the site, it keeps growing and I keep blogging as a result. (I hope the said blog posts are getting better as well.) Needless to say, I blew away my 25,000 unique visits goal with almost exactly 28,000 hits as of January 1, 2010.

Thanks to an idea from several other sites I frequent, I decided to compile a list of the top 10 most popular posts on the site in 2009. Here is that list…

1: 2,562 views – How well do you see color?

2: 2,407 views – HDR – Part 1

3: 2,295 views – The Big Lab Throwdown – Final Results

4: 1,455 views – Richer color without Saturation.

5: 1,337 views – Using Curves to Dodge & Burn

6: 1,059 views – 10 second Teeth Whitening + Video Tutorial

7: 1,052 views – X-Rite ColorChecker Passport – Test & Review

8: 957 views – Skin Softening – Software Comparison

9: 902 views – HDR – Part 2

10: 885 views – Camera setup for HDR shooting.

Things to expect in 2010 include more video tutorials including several videos for older Photoshop tricks that I did in my early blogging days that could really use a video update. I hope to continue the HDR series soon as it is both popular and a number of people have expressed how they are looking forward to the next post on it. I am trying to work out some deals with some vendors to get products for testing before they hit the market but that is still a little more of wishful thinking. I expect soon I may update the look and feel of the site as the current format simply doesn’t work all that great and severely limits the image size. And I am constantly thinking of new ideas to blog about but the past few months have been too busy to sit down and do much so I am going to revisit some of those ideas that I wrote down and hope to make some more lengthy posts that I hope people will learn from. You may have also noticed that I have recently added a 5 star rating system to my posts to allow people to anonymously rate posts if they wish to do so. (This will help me decide what direction to take new posts that people will enjoy more.)

Anyway, I am looking into 2010 hopefully facing the right direction and with my hands tight on the wheel ready to speed ahead. Life won’t slow down and let me catch up and I have some ground to make up so get in, sit down, buckle up and hang on!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. January 2, 2010 at 12:58 am
  2. January 2, 2010 at 12:59 am

Leave a Reply

