Home > Color Correction > The Big Lab Throwdown – Update

The Big Lab Throwdown – Update


So far things are coming along good in the Big Lab Throwdown – Photographic Prints. I have prints back from 3 professional labs and 1 retail lab. I still need to place orders with a few of the labs and at least one other order is in transit to be delivered soon. So far the prints have covered the gamut from mediocre to great, and that is with just 4 test orders in so far!

On that note, upon setting up accounts with 6 other professional labs (I had accounts with two already), two of the labs made the effort to call and ask if I had any questions and to thank me for my business and two sent personal email messages also asking if I had questions and thanking me for business. The last two have neither sent an email beyond the initial automated response nor called to thank me for my business or ask if I had any questions or needed any assistance in ordering.

The prints I have received so far have all come in a timely manor based on the time from when the order was placed to the time I had the order in my hands. The only setback was a delay with one lab due to my own fault which they did contact me to correct and promptly continued the order once it was cleared up. I expect most of the labs will have service times of 1 to 2 days at most and depending on method of shipping, orders should take no more than 3 to 4 working days to receive. So far this has held true.

Several of the labs also extended a discount or even offered free test prints to show off their services. One of the labs even sent a set of prints without corrections and with lab corrections in order to show what their color technicians can do for your files. I like the idea as it helps you decide how well the color of the uncorrected print matches the screen and if you want to go with an economy print service or pay extra for the premium color corrected prints.

So far I am excited to start comparing results but am keeping them packaged up, ready to compare once all of the labs in the test are accounted for.

Although it is early still, if all goes well, I hope to make a Round Two Throwdown and test Canvas Gallery Wraps, but that may be a while away due to cost unless I can convince the labs to submit a small wrap for the test. (Or collect significant donations.) Oh yea, and thanks to the few people who HAVE donated already to this test. Thanks so much, every little bit helps!

Link back to Part 1 : Put Your Lab To The Test

  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 16, 2009 at 8:26 pm

Leave a Reply

