Home > Color Correction > How well do you see color?

How well do you see color?


So you’re a photographer and you prefer the control of doing your own color corrections and you don’t have any color blindness that you are aware of. All should be great and color should just flow from one pixel to the next…. But wait, your recent client thinks they look too red and you disagree. Who’s to say who is wrong?

Here is a situation that you could avoid by knowing your personal color deficiencies. Most people have some range of color that they cannot see as well as others. The Farnsworth Munsell 100 Hue Test (also known as the FM 100) is a commonly used vision test to find a persons areas of color deficiency. You simply line up the colors in a row from the first block to the last (those two are fixed points) in order to make the color transition from color to color as smooth as possible. (See image two as an example.)

Farnsworth Munsell 100 Hue Test

Farnsworth Munsell 100 Hue Test

Once you are done, click Score Test and it will graph the areas of color that you may have a problem seeing properly. If you don’t score well, perhaps you should let your lab handle color corrections for you from now on. If you score well, you should pat yourself on the back or give yourself a gold star for the day or something. (Ok, I joke.)

Go try it for yourself: X-Rite Farnsworth Munsell 100 Hue Test

Here is what the test should look like if you have the colors lined up, ready to be scored.

FM-100 Test Complete

FM-100 Test Complete

And not to brag, here is my score. I’ve taken it a number of times before for my job so I guess that makes me a veteran to the test. FYI, A lower number is a better score.

My Score = 0 = Perfect

My Score = 0 = Perfect

  1. August 9, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    Gee, I was stoked when I got a three, then I read down to your score, and wasn’t so stoked anymore. Pretty cool test, though.

    • modifiedphoto
      August 10, 2009 at 12:40 am

      A 3 is a very good score either way. I’ve taken the test many times before (the actual test, not on a computer) and I feel it is harder in person than on a computer.

  2. Shane
    August 20, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    I am a little embarrassed, my score was 135. Scary thing is I am a photographer!

  3. November 3, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    got a perfect score. which is good because i am a photographer and this is the first time i took the test. with the exceptions of video screen accuracies it’s nice to know that people are seeing my art the same way i’m seeing it.

    —Mike Savad

  4. enchantant
    June 3, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    Zero!! 😀 Good to know I don’t have any problem with color vision since I’m hoping to make a living out of photography one day 🙂

  5. December 4, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    Wow, that test make my eye kinda blurry after looking at each box for a while. But I managed to get the score of 7 which I am very happy to get at my age. So think I still see color ok and as a photography that is very critical. Very nice article and link to the test is awesome.

  6. kenza
    December 10, 2010 at 3:49 am

    thanks for the tip, it’s great test. I got 35 the 1st time and 4 the 2nd time.

  1. January 2, 2010 at 12:28 am
  2. April 23, 2010 at 1:43 am

Leave a Reply

